I have added under the title Helpful Websites called Navigating the Real World. It has very helpful information for freshmen on up to senior year.


VFW sponsors "Scout of the Year Scholarship" which recognizes four individuals: Eagle Scouts, Girl Scout Gold Award recipients, Venture Silver Award recipients and Sea Scout Quartermasters who have risen above their peer in exemplifying the exceptional qualities of that rank with the following:

  • 1st place scholarship - $5,000
  • 2nd place scholarship - $3,000
  • 3rd place scholarship - $1,000

. To be eligible for the award, the candidate must:

  • To a registered, active member of a Boy or Girl Scout Troop, Venturing Crew or Sea Scout Ship.
  • Be the recipient of the Eagle Scout Award, Gold Award, Venture Silver Award or Sea Scout Quartermaster Award.
  • Have reached his or her 15th birthday and be enrolled in high school at the time of the selection.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary citizenship in school, Scouting and community.

Deadline for entries: TBA

- Entry to the Post

- Submission to Department Scouting Team member from the Post.

- Submission to national organization from Department Scouting Team member.